Thursday, December 10, 2009


Constellation is a group of stars, that when seen from Earth, form a pattern. The stars in the sky are divided into 88 constellations.

The brightest constellation is crux. The constellation with the greatest number of visible stars in it is Centaurus (101 stars).

The largest constellation is Hydra (Water snake) which extends over 3.158% of the sky.

There are also asterisms, smaller apparent star patterns within a constellation, like the Big Dipper (in Ursa Major), the Little Dipper (in Ursa Minor), Keystone (in Hercules), and the Pleiades (in Taurus).

Constellation family:

Zodiac (12 Constellations representing the signs of the Zodiac)
The Ursa Major (10 constellations)
The Perseus (9 Constellations)
The Hercules (19 constellations)
The Orion (5 constellations)
The Heavenly Waters (9 constellations)
The Bayer group (11 constellations)
The La Caille (13 constellations)

Source + to read more please visit this site

No comments:

Post a Comment